Skip to Main Content

Research Data

Practical information on research data, how and where to share them, data management plans, data repositories, etc.

Standard licenses for the research data

There are different types of standard electronic licenses specifically for datasets:

a) Open Data Commons Licenses: http://opendatacommons.org/licenses/

1 Open Database License (ODbL)Microscopio

You are free:

  • To share: To copy, distribute and use the database.
  • To create: To produce works from the database.
  • To adapt: To modify, transform and build upon the database
     

As long as you:

  • Attribute: You must attribute any public use of the database, or works produced from the database, in the manner specified in the ODbL. For any use or redistribution of the database, or works produced from it, you must make clear to others the license of the database and keep intact any notices on the original database.
  • Share-Alike: If you publicly use any adapted version of this database, or works produced from an adapted database, you must also offer that adapted database under the ODbL.
  • Keep open: If you redistribute the database, or an adapted version of it, then you may use technological measures that restrict the work (such as DRM) as long as you also redistribute a version without such measures.

2 Open Data Commons Attribution License (ODC-By) 

You are free:

  • To share: To copy, distribute and use the database.
  • To create: To produce works from the database.
  • To adapt: To modify, transform and build upon the database.

As long as you:

  • Attribute: You must attribute any public use of the database, or works produced from the database, in the manner specified in the license. For any use or redistribution of the database, or works produced from it, you must make clear to others the license of the database and keep intact any notices on the original database. 

3 Open Data Commons Public Domain Dedication and License (PDDL)

You are free:

  • To share: To copy, distribute and use the database.
  • To create: To produce works from the database.
  • To adapt: To modify, transform and build upon the database.

As long as you:

Blank: This section is intentionally left blank. The PDDL imposes no restrictions on your use of the PDDL licensed database.

b) Creative Commons Licenses:

For open data you can choose from the following 4.0 licenses that comply with international laws:

  • CC0 1.0 Public Domain Dedication: works with no conditions.
  • CC BY 4.0: credit must be given to the creator.
  • CC BY-SA 4.0: adaptations must be shared under the same terms.
  • CC BY-NC 4.0: only noncommercial uses of the work are permitted.